University of Nebraska at Kearney OpenSPACES@UNK: Scholarship, Preservation, and Creative Endeavors

Saunders County Bicentennial Educational History

Schools

1976

District #14 - Morse Bluff

Office of the County Superintendent, Saunders County

Follow this and additional works at: https://openspaces.unk.edu/saunderscounty



Part of the Education Commons, and the United States History Commons

Recommended Citation

Office of the County Superintendent, Saunders County, "District #14 - Morse Bluff" (1976). Saunders County Bicentennial Educational History. 8.

https://openspaces.unk.edu/saunderscounty/8

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Schools at OpenSPACES@UNK: Scholarship, Preservation, and Creative Endeavors. It has been accepted for inclusion in Saunders County Bicentennial Educational History by an authorized administrator of OpenSPACES@UNK: Scholarship, Preservation, and Creative Endeavors. For more information, please contact weissell@unk.edu.

DISTRICT # 14-MORSE BLUFF

Morse Bluff, District No. 14 was formed in 1869. The first school building was located south of the present building and accommodated students through the 8th grade.

Another frame building was constructed just west of the present building in 1896. In 1900 the curriculum included classes for 9th and 10th grade students.

Walter Fleming, a resident still living in the district, was the only member of the 2nd graduating class in 1903. He received all of his schooling in this district. Mr. Fleming's wife, the former Louise Seligmann, was the only member of the 3rd graduation class. His father, Walter G. Fleming was the first county superintendent elected in Saunders County in 1871.

The present brick building was completed in September, 1923. Grades 9 and 10 were discontinued after the 1951-52 school term.

Some districts adjoining Morse Bluff consolidated with it. They are District #15 in 1960; District #79 in 1963; and Districts #77, #78 and #86 in 1970:

In 1968 an election was held to determine whether District #14 would join other districts in forming a Class 6 district in North Bend. This proposal was passed by all districts involved and District #95, North Bend Central Junior-Senior High School became one of the first Class 6 districts in the state.

With the building of a new Junior-Senior High School in 1969, further changes occurred. Since the 1968-69 school term, students in grades 7 and 8 receive junior high education in North Bend. Many of the Junior High and Senior High students are transported to North Bend by bus.

Section 20, Township 7, Range 6 Morse Bluff Precinct Morse Bluff

School Board -

Marvin O. Hines
James L. Williams
Anne J. Simanek

Teachers -

Janet Pebley Florence Blanchard Cora Hansen Eileen Cash

Pupils

Talbert Allender Mike Hampl Mark Kobza Kevin Navrkal John Spence Rita Stranik Roseann Chvatal Rodney Hartman Mike Heisler Corey Kavan Lynn Simanek Jimmy Thege Jonathan Zeleny Kris Karpisek Dean Kavan Diann Kavan Laura Racek Robin Simanek Monday Vosler Ricky Stevens Cindy Hruza Beverly Hynek Dean Simanek Amy Stranik Doug Thege Jacci Van Ampting Brad Williams

Ronnie Hartman Doug Kavan Kelly Karpisek Vicki Kobza Matt Musiel Pam Thege Donna Chvatal Deanna Otte Alan Sloup Roxane Thege Jay Van Ampting Darby Vosler Mitchell Williams Tim Dunker Rita Hartman Cheryl Hines Patrick Kavan Frank Sloup Ruth Kavan Joe Zeleny Don Stevens