University of Nebraska at Kearney

OpenSPACES@UNK: Scholarship, Preservation, and Creative Endeavors

Committee Meeting Minutes

Student Government

9-3-2024

Committee Meeting Minutes 9-3-24

UNK Student Government

Follow this and additional works at: https://openspaces.unk.edu/cmm

Recommended Citation

UNK Student Government, "Committee Meeting Minutes 9-3-24" (2024). *Committee Meeting Minutes*. 16. https://openspaces.unk.edu/cmm/16

This Meeting Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Student Government at OpenSPACES@UNK: Scholarship, Preservation, and Creative Endeavors. It has been accepted for inclusion in Committee Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of OpenSPACES@UNK: Scholarship, Preservation, and Creative Endeavors. For more information, please contact weissell@unk.edu.

2024-2025 Student Government

Associated Students of the University of Nebraska-Kearney



Minutes & Proceedings

September 3rd, 2024

Senators in Attendance: Manning, Seibert, Howe, Simpson, Burklund, Bond, Oltmans, Vargas,

Shackelford, Lawless, Rasmussen, Messere, Dey, Samuel.

Senators Absent: Moe, Stegman, Schardt.

Senate Executives: Speaker Przymus, Secretary Loeffelholz

Government Executives: President Sam Schroeder, Vice President Zane Grizzle, Emma Nolan, Joey

Orellana, Genesis Acosta, and Ally Sedlacek.

The committee meeting of the Associated Students of the University of Nebraska – Kearney was held on August 27, 2024, in the Antelope Room of the Nebraskan Student Union and was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Speaker Przymus; Quorum was present.

Public Comment:

None.

Committee Reports

Selections and Constitutional Review (Senator Shackelford):

- Met with representatives and approved the constitutions for:
 - UNK College Republicans
 - United in Dance
 - o Alpha Psi Collegiate Latino Honor Society
 - o Honors Activity Organization.

Rules and Ethics (Senator Burklund):

- Interviewed and passed 5 people:
 - o Genesis Acosta Student Organization and Affairs—approved

- o Joey Orellana Secretary of Treasury—approved
- o Emma Nolan Chief of Staff—approved
- o Laura Velasco Election Commissioner—approved
- o Ally Sedlacek Secretary of Community Relations--approved

Facilities, Campus Development, and Sustainability (Senator Bond):

- Discussed the Campus Adoption Project for the 2024/2025 academic year.
 - O Divided up the contacts for the student organizations involved last year and are working to contact all the organizations on our list!

Student Affairs and Public Relations (Senator Howe and Seibert):

- Working on a yearly/weekly plan for our posts.
- Senator Shoutout Google doc made, need everyone to fill out and add a headshot!
- Instagram Takeovers schedule.

Student Programming Board (Senator Oltmans):

• Discussed goals for the year, which include updating the UPFF guidelines and improving the advertisement for this fund.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (Senator Vargas):

- Looking towards getting a non-senator member for DEI committee.
- Discussed stating up a transportation system for international students again.
- Discussed the possibility of changing the committee's name.