Undergraduate Research Journal

Volume 20 (2016)


We are pleased to share the 2016 UNK Undergraduate Research Journal with friends of the University of Nebraska at Kearney. We were happy to have so many strong submissions this year, reflecting the high quality scholarly papers produced by undergraduate students at UNK.

UNK students also disseminate their research and creative activity at on-campus forums, at the National Conference on Undergraduate Research, and at professional conferences throughout the year. Several students won national recognition for their original research and creative activity in 2015-2016.

Our thanks to Dennis Seberger for serving as editor of this edition. Congratulations to the students whose writing is included, and our sincere appreciation to the many faculty members who guide and support their work.



Rape in Alaska
Caitlin Williams


Dennis Seberger

Undergraduate Research Council

Christopher Exstrom
Chris Jochum
Jake Messersmith
Jody Van Laningham
Julie Campbell
Laurie Swinney
Letty Reichart
Michelle Beissel Heath


Robert Benton
Joan Blauwkamp
Deborah Bridges
Joseph Carlson
Jonathan Dettman
Tim Farrell
Anne Foradori
Megan Hartman
Chris Jochum
Sonja Kropp
Martha Kruse
Seth Long
Ben Malczyk
Angela Monterroso
Kurt Siedschlaw
Christina Sogar
Ana Maria Tejada
Frank Tenkorang
Andrew White
Timbre Wulf-Ludden