Undergraduate Research Journal

Volume 19 (2015)


We are pleased to share the 2015 UNK Undergraduate Research Journal with friends of the University of Nebraska at Kearney. We were happy to have so many strong submissions this year, reflecting the high quality scholarly papers produced by undergraduate students at UNK.

UNK students also disseminate their research and creative activity at on-campus forums, at the National Conferences on Undergraduate Research, and at professional conferences throughout the year. Several students won national recognition for their original research and creative activity in 2014-2015.

Our thanks to Dennis Seberger for serving as editor of this edition. Congratulations to the students whose writing is included, and our sincere appreciation to the many faculty members who guide and support their work.

Kenya Taylor, Associate Vice Chancellor Academic & Student Affairs, and Dean, Graduate Studies & Research



Dennis Seberger

Undergraduate Research Council

Christopher Exstrom
Chris Jochum
Jake Messersmith
Jody Van Laningham
Julie Campbell
Laura Swinney
Letty Reichart
Linda Crowe
Michelle Beissel Heath


Sylvia Asay
Nate Barry
Deborah Bridges
Greg Broekemier
Julie Campbell
Roger Davis
Jonathan Dettman
Bree Dority
Mark Ellis
Christopher Exstrom
Ashley Gage
Megan Hartman
Chris Jochum
Martha Kruse
Mickey Langlais
Peter Longo
Kyle Luthans
Christie Maloyed
Jake Messersmith
Jeff Nordhues
Maria O'Malley
Brian Ray
Dawn Simon
Christina Sogar
Frank Tenkorang
Glenn Tracy
Nacasius Ujah
Jody Van Laningham